Mondrian Collages

3

So this is kind of a typical art project but I liked it because I didn’t have supplies come in yet so it was a good way to introduces some elements of art before painting. The major themes in this project were primary colors, lines, shapes and abstract art. When they saw examples of Mondrian’s work there is a lot of room for discussion on what they think the paintings look like.

I showed them Broadway Boogie Woogie without telling them the title. I told them to use their imagination and discuss with their partner what they see. Without me telling them they got the sense of a city, and buildings and traffic lights. When I told them the paintings background they were really excited.

We also talked about what shapes and colors they see. I showed them another examples of Mondrian’s work with the typical black lines. We discussed what direction the lines can go, horizontal, vertical, and diagonal. We talked about the primary colors and what makes them special.

The guidelines were simple, students have to have at least 1 vertical, 1 horizontal, and 1 diagonal line. They have to use all 3 primary colors, and use different shapes to cover up most for the empty spaces. I didn’t want to give them too many limitations as I wanted them to be free to come up with their own things. I was observed during this lesson and my AP thought I should have had more rules, but I think they came out great with the guidelines they had? Yes, there is always going to be that kid who wants to do the bare minimum and get it over with quick and easy… but I feel like that is the kid you have a sit down chat with and try to inspire them to do more. Plus once things got going the kids saw what their peers were doing and kept going. Some kids cut their pieces smaller, some kids had their work pop out and make it a 3D project! I feel like you have to let them explore on their own.

I told them they can work to a certain design or see what it looks like after like we did with Broadway Boogie Woogie. We came up with titles based on what they saw I their pictures. Encourage students to use their paper wisely and not be afraid of the scrap bucket. I went through a lot of paper. Collage is also an annoying clean up so make sure you have a broom and dust pan.

I have also done this project on the computer! Great for learning how to make straight lines, use the bucket tool to fill in spaces, and create shapes! I used a program called PIXIE!

2

Leave a Reply

